Faculty Information.
Full Time Instructors Descriptions Contact by Email
Melissa Checker PhD, New York University. U.S. social movements, race, class and ethnicity in the U.S., urban environmentalism, environmental justice, climate justice. mchecker@qc.cuny.edu
Dana-ain Davis Ph.D.  Graduate Center, City University of New York.  Urban anthropology, gender, race, public policy, participatory action research, Black Studies, feminist theory. dana.davis@qc.cuny.edu
Martin Hanlon

PhD, Columbia University: Public management, workforce issues, transportation policy. Director, Master of Arts in Social Science

martin.hanlon@qc.cuny.edu
Tarry Hum PhD, UCLA School of Public Policy and Social Research: urban planning, immigration, Asian-American issues tarry.hum@qc.cuny.edu
Christos Ioannides PhD, University of Pennsylvania: Greek-American community, Greek-American relations. Director, Center for Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies christos.ioannides@qc.cuny.edu
Madhulika Khandelwal PhD, Carnegie-Mellon University: Asian-American communities, South Asian diaspora. Director, Asian/American Center madhulika.khandelwal@qc.cuny.edu
Jeff Maskovsky Ph.D. Temple University Urban ethnography; social movements; difference and inequality. jeff.maskovsky@qc.cuny.edu
William Muraskin PhD, University of California Berkeley: social/urban history, health and disease william.muraskin@qc.cuny.edu
Leonard Rodberg PhD, MIT: Health care, global climate change, urban data leonard.rodberg@qc.cuny.edu
Alice Sardell PhD, NYU: Health policy, urban and community politics alice.sardell@qc.cuny.edu
John E. Seley PhD, University of Pennsylvania: Urban planning, public policy, geography john.seley@qc.cuny.edu
Marcia Bayne Smith  DSW, Columbia University:
Community organization, immigration
marcia.smith@qc.cuny.edu
Stephen Steinberg PhD University of California/Berkeley: Race, ethnicity, and immigration; urban sociology; sociology of knowledge. ssteinberg1@gc.cuny.edu


Adjunct Faculty

Rodney Benson: criminal justice, public administration

Martin Eisenberg: urban poverty, research methods, urban diversity, community organization

Giuseppe Fortuna: sociology, urban theory

Jonathan Gaska: land use planning, urban politics

Keith Howard: human resource management and law

Michael Musuraca: labor relations, public employee unions

Manuel Rosa: urban services, urban politics

James Vacca: urban poverty, urban politics




Copyright 2005 Urban Studies Department of Queens College, CUNY.   Urban Studies Logo (c) 2002