QClogo    D E P A R T M E N T  O F  A N T H R O P O L O G Y   
   

menu css by Css3Menu.com



Click here for current semester's faculty office hours: Fall 2018 Faculty Office Hours


FULL-TIME FACULTY                       ADJUNCT & AFFLIATED FACULTY                    PROFESSOR EMERITI                  AFFILIATED SCHOLARS
FACULTY
Bauer Alexander Bauer
Research Interests: archaeology, material culture, cultural heritage law and policy, Middle East, Eurasia

Office: 313A Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5517
e-mail: alexander.bauer@qc.cuny.edu

Birth Kevin Birth
Research Interests: social anthropology, psychological anthropology, time, festivals, ethnicity, Caribbean
Office: 313C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5518
e-mail: kevin.birth@qc.cuny.edu

Collins John Collins
Research Interests:
cultural anthropology, economic anthropology, cultural heritage and development, Latin America, historical anthropology, nationalism and the state

Office: 315G Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5524
e-mail: john.collins@qc.cuny.edu

Elisha Omri Elisha
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, Evangelicalism/Christianity, urban anthropology, North American ethnography, cultural activism/social movements
Office: 315L Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5525
e-mail: omri.elisha@qc.cuny.edu

Halliburton Murphy Halliburton
Research Interests: medical anthropology, South Asian culture and history, cross-cultural psychiatry, anthropology of science
Office: 315I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5528
e-mail: murphy.halliburton@qc.cuny.edu


Limbert Mandana Limbert
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, Middle East: Oman, Arab societies, anthropology of memory, historical anthropology, religion, modernity, colonialism
Office: 315F Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5526
e-mail: mandana.limbert@qc.cuny.edu

Madimenos Felicia Madimenos
Research Interests: biological anthropology, health and market integration, life history theory, skeletal health, reproductive ecology, indigenous Ecuadorian populations
Office: 313D Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5637
e-mail: felicia.madimenos@qc.cuny.edu
Makihara Miki Makihara
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, language and identity, language contact, linguistic ideology, Pacific societies
Office: 312D Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5513
e-mail: miki.makihara@qc.cuny.edu


Moore James A Moore
Research Interests: archaeology, quantitative methods, historical archaeology, European prehistory, forager/ farmer interactions
Office: 313B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2891
e-mail: james.moore@qc.cuny.edu

Pechenkina Kate Pechenkina (Department Chair)
Research Interests: biological anthropology, bioarchaeology, disease in prehistory, bone pathology, Neolithic China, prehistoric Peru
Office: 312A Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5529
e-mail: pechenkina@yahoo.com


Plummer Thomas Plummer
Research Interests: biological anthropology, hominin behavior and paleoecology, hominin paleontology, human osteology 
Office: 315M Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5511
e-mail: thomas.plummer@qc.cuny.edu

Pugh Timothy Pugh
Research Interests: archaeology, Mesoamerica, complex society, Maya, ethnohistory, social identity 
Office: 312B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2896
e-mail: twpugh@qc.cuny.edu


Rodriguez Juan Luis Rodriguez
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, semiotics, politics, discourse, Latin America, Venezuela, Indigenous peoples
Office: 315H Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2928
e-mail: juan.rodriguezaponte@qc.cuny.edu


Strassler Karen Strassler
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, visual and material culture, photography and new media technologies, history and memory, post-colonial literature, film and art, Indonesia, Southeast Asia, Asian diasporas
Office: 315P Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2859
e-mail: karen.strassler@qc.cuny.edu

Swedell Larissa Swedell
Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, primate ecology and behavior, reproductive strategies, Hamadryas baboons
Office: 315E Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2897
e-mail: larissa.swedell@qc.cuny.edu

Tache Karine Tache
Research Interests: archaeology, Northeastern North America, prehistoric interaction networks, early pottery uses, organic residue analysis
Office: 312 Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2893
e-mail: karine.tache@qc.cuny.edu
       back to top

    
ADJUNCT & AFFLIATED FACULTY
Amann  Alexis Amann
   Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, behavioral endocrinology, captive animal management
  
Office: 314J Powdermaker Hall
   Phone: (718) 997-2854
  
e-mail: Alexis.Amann@qc.cuny.edu

Barton pic   Scott Barton
   Research Interests: Latin America, African diaspora religions, food and foodways, tourism studies, documentary filmmaking
   Office: 314D Powdermaker Hall
   Phone: (718) 997-5532
   e-mail: scott.barton@qc.cuny.edu

Justin Bracken  Justin Bracken
  Research Interests: archaeology, the Maya, Mesoamerica, rise of social complexity, fortifications, warfare, coopoeration, GIS, spatial analysis
  Office: 314G Powdermaker Hall
  Phone: (718) 997-2856
 
e-mail: jbracken@graduatecenter.cuny.edu

Walter Burgos
Research Interests: archaeology
Office: 314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512
e-mail: morakawa@gmail.com

Misty Crooks
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology
Office: 314B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5561
e-mail: misty.crooks@qc.cuny.edu

Tomomi Emoto   Tomomi Emoto
    Research Interests: cultural anthropology, East Asia, Japan, border, borderland, identity politics, performance, ritual, ethnohistory, violence and gender
    Office: 314F Powdermaker Hall
    Phone: (718) 997-5522
    e-mail: jimee.choi@qc.cuny.edu

Agnes Eshak
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512
e-mail: aeshak08@gmail.com

Katarina Evans   Katarina Evans
    Research Interests: biological anthropology, primate behavioral ecology, sociality, nutritional ecology
    Office: 314F Powdermaker Hall
    Phone: (718) 997-5515
    e-mail: katarina.evans@qc.cuny.edu

Frank Feeley    Francis Feeley
    Research Interests: zooarchaeology, Medieval commercial fishing, North Atlantic archaeology
    Office: 314D Powdermaker Hall
    Phone: (718) 997-5523
    e-mail: ffeeley@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Megan Henriquez
Research Interests: biological anthropology, primate behavioral ecology
Office: 314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512
e-mail: mhenriquez1@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Raquel Lamela Lopez
Research Interests: biological anthropology
Office: 314C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2892
e-mail: r.lamela.lopez@gmail.com

Wendy Leynse
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, child socialization, education, school lunch, food habits, French culture & society
Office: 314G Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2856
e-mail: wendy.leynse@qc.cuny.edu

Pagano  Anthony Pagano
   Research Interests: evolution and postnatal development of the human upper respiratory tract, middle ear disease (otitis media), reconstructing the soft  
   tissue anatomy of the nasopharynx and skull base of Neanderthals and other Pleistocene Homo

   Office: 314D Powdermaker Hall
   Phone: (718) 997-5532
   e-mail: anthony.pagano@yahoo.com

Richard Payne
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5561
e-mail: ricpayne@yahoo.com

Romera  Aida Romera Barbera
 Research Interests:
bioarchaeology, health and disease in the past, archaeology of North America, food and foodways, diet, organic residue analysis
 Office:
314D Powdermaker Hall
 Phone:
(718) 997-5532
 e-mail:
 aidaromera@gmail.com
Nicole Rose
Research Interests:
archaeology, Russian and Soviet archaeology, the Bronze and Early Iron Age Eurasian steppe, mobility, ceramic composition and technology, handheld XRF
Office:
314B Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5561
e-mail:
nicole.rose@qc.cuny.edu


Doreen Schmitt
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, sociolinguistics, language and law, forensic linguistics

Office:
314J Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5520
e-mail:
 
doreen.schmitt@qc.cuny.edu

Shibata   Chihiro Shibata
  Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, callitrichids, cooperative breeding systems, South America, Suriname
  Office: 314C Powdermaker Hall
  Phone: (718) 997-2892
  e-mail: chihiro.shibata@qc.cuny.edu

Shinn   Ryan Shinn
   Research Interests: biological anthropology, archaeology
   Office: 315N Powdermaker Hall
   Phone: (718) 997-5511
   e-mail: ryan.shinn73@qmail.cuny.edu
Busra Unluonen
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512
e-mail: eunluonen@gradcenter.cuny.edu

       back to top

PROFESSOR EMERITI
Warren DeBoer
Research Interests: archaeology, ethnoarchaeology, South America, North America
e-mail: warren.deboer@qc.cuny.edu

Edgar A. Gregersen
Research Interests: linguistics, cultural anthropology, sexology, Egyptology, Africa
e-mail: egregrsn@aol.com

Edward C. Hansen
Research Interests: general ethnology, present society and culture, politics of underdevelopment, Latin America, Mediterranean
e-mail: echansen40@comcast.com

Amal Rassam
Research Interests: Muslim society, gender and culture, ethnicity, anthropology of religion, Middle East, North Africa
e-mail: arassam@aol.com

Roger Sanjek
Research Interests: urban anthropology, race and ethnicity, ethnographic writing and practice, history of anthropology, U.S., Ghana
e-mail: rsanjek@earthlink.net

Sara Stinson
Research Interests: biological anthropology, human growth and development, human adaptation, nutritional anthropology, South America
e-mail: sara.stinson@qc.cuny.edu

Ronald Waterbury
Research Interests: economic anthropology, modernization and development, peasant society, Mesoamerica
e-mail: ronoax@gmail.com

       back to top


AFFILIATED ANTHROPOLOGISTS IN OTHER DEPARTMENTS
Mary P. Bushnell Greiner (PhD. U Virginia, 1998; Associate Professor, Elementary & Early Childhood Education)
Research Interests: Anthropology and education, critical anthropology, gender, aesthetics, North America
e-mail: mary.bushnellgreiner@qc.cuny.edu

Jeff Maskovsky (Ph.D. Temple University, 2000; Associate Professor, Urban Studies)
Research Interests: globalization, difference and inequality, social movements, urban political economy, anthropology of the United States, North America
e-mail: jmaskovsky@gc.cuny.edu

Anahi Viladrich (Ph.D. Columbia University, 2003; Professor, Sociology)
Research Interests: Latinos in the U.S., gender, globaliztion, health disparities, mixed-methods research
e-mail: anahi.viladrich@qc.cuny.edu

      back to top



footer