QClogo    D E P A R T M E N T  O F  A N T H R O P O L O G Y   
   

menu css by Css3Menu.com



Click here for current semester's faculty office hours: Spring 2020 Faculty Office Hours


FULL-TIME FACULTY                       ADJUNCT & AFFLIATED FACULTY                    PROFESSOR EMERITI                  IN MEMORIAM                AFFILIATED SCHOLARS
FACULTY
Bauer Alexander Bauer
Research Interests: archaeology, material culture, cultural heritage law and policy, Middle East, Eurasia

Office: 313A Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5517
e-mail: alexander.bauer@qc.cuny.edu

Birth Kevin Birth
Research Interests: social anthropology, psychological anthropology, time, festivals, ethnicity, Caribbean
Office: 313C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5518
e-mail: kevin.birth@qc.cuny.edu

Collins John Collins
Research Interests:
cultural anthropology, economic anthropology, cultural heritage and development, Latin America, historical anthropology, nationalism and the state

Office: 315G Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5524
e-mail: john.collins@qc.cuny.edu

Elisha Omri Elisha
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, Evangelical Christianity, anthropology of religion, North America, ritual performance, spirituality & secularism
Office: 315L Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5525
e-mail: omri.elisha@qc.cuny.edu

Frank FeeleyFrancis Feeley
Research Interests: zooarchaeology, Medieval commercial fishing, North Atlantic archaeology
Office: 314D Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5523
e-mail: ffeeley@qc.cuny.edu
Halliburton Murphy Halliburton
Research Interests: medical anthropology, South Asian culture and history, cross-cultural psychiatry, anthropology of science
Office: 315I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5528
e-mail: murphy.halliburton@qc.cuny.edu


Limbert Mandana Limbert
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, Middle East: Oman, Arab societies, anthropology of memory, historical anthropology, religion, modernity, colonialism
Office: 315F Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5526
e-mail: mandana.limbert@qc.cuny.edu

Madimenos Felicia Madimenos
Research Interests: biological anthropology, health and market integration, life history theory, skeletal health, reproductive ecology, Amazonian populations
Office: 312C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5637
e-mail: fmadimenos@qc.cuny.edu
Makihara Miki Makihara
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, language and identity, language contact, linguistic ideology, Pacific societies
Office: 312D Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5513
e-mail: miki.makihara@qc.cuny.edu


Moore James A Moore
Research Interests: archaeology, quantitative methods, historical archaeology, European prehistory, forager/ farmer interactions
Office: 313B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2891
e-mail: james.moore@qc.cuny.edu

Pechenkina Kate Pechenkina
Research Interests: biological anthropology, bioarchaeology, disease in prehistory, bone pathology, Neolithic China, prehistoric Peru
Office: 312A Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5529
e-mail: kate.pechenkina@qc.cuny.edu


Plummer Thomas Plummer
Research Interests: biological anthropology, hominin behavior and paleoecology, hominin paleontology, human osteology 
Office: 315M Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5511
e-mail: thomas.plummer@qc.cuny.edu

Pugh Timothy Pugh
Research Interests: archaeology, Mesoamerica, complex society, Maya, ethnohistory, social identity 
Office: 312B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2896
e-mail: twpugh@qc.cuny.edu


Rodriguez Juan Luis Rodriguez
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, semiotics, politics, discourse, Latin America, Venezuela, Indigenous peoples
Office: 315H Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2928
e-mail: juan.rodriguezaponte@qc.cuny.edu


Strassler Karen Strassler
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, visual and material culture, photography and new media technologies, history and memory, post-colonial literature, film and art, Indonesia, Southeast Asia, Asian diasporas
Office: 315P Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2859
e-mail: karen.strassler@qc.cuny.edu

ShinnRyan Shinn
Research Interests: biological anthropology, osteology of human and non-human organisms, archaeology, bioarchaeology, experimental archaeology, study of arms and armour
Office: 315N Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5511
e-mail: ryan.shinn73@qmail.cuny.edu
Swedell Larissa Swedell
Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, primate ecology and behavior, reproductive strategies, Hamadryas baboons
Office: 315E Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2897
e-mail: larissa.swedell@qc.cuny.edu

Rhodes Victor
Megan Rhodes Victor
Research Interests: historical archaeology, commensality, archaeology of alcohol within drinking spaces, archaeology of frontier spaces
Phone: (718) 997-5510

       back to top

    
ADJUNCT & AFFLIATED FACULTY
Amann  Alexis Amann
   Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, behavioral endocrinology, captive animal management
  
Office: 314J Powdermaker Hall
   Phone: (718) 997-5520
   e-mail: alexis.amann@qc.cuny.edu

 
  


Nadia Augustyniak
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512
e-mail: naugustyniak@gmail.com

Barton pic   Scott Barton
   Research Interests: Latin America, African diaspora religions, food and foodways, tourism studies, documentary filmmaking
   Office: 314G Powdermaker Hall
   Phone: (718) 997-2856
   

Tomomi Emoto   Tomomi Emoto
    Research Interests: cultural anthropology, East Asia, Japan, border, borderland, identity politics, performance, ritual, ethnohistory, violence and gender
    Office: 314F Powdermaker Hall
    Phone: (718) 997-5522
    e-mail: jimee.choi@qc.cuny.edu

Katarina Evans   Katarina Evans
    Research Interests: biological anthropology, primate behavioral ecology, sociality, nutritional ecology
    Office: 314B Powdermaker Hall
    Phone: (718) 997-5561
    e-mail: katarina.evans@qc.cuny.edu
   

Olal Galal
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314G Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2856
e-mail: ogalal@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Megan Henriquez
Research Interests: biological anthropology, primate behavioral ecology
Office: 314B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5561
e-mail: mhenriquez1@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Raquel Lamela Lopez
Research Interests: biological anthropology
Office: 314C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2892
e-mail: rlamelalopez@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Wendy Leynse
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, child socialization, education, school lunch, food habits, French culture & society
Office: 314G Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2856
e-mail: wendy.leynse@qc.cuny.edu

Evan Mann
Research Interests: archaeology
Office: 314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512
e-mail: emann@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Pagano  Anthony Pagano
   Research Interests: evolution and postnatal development of the human upper respiratory tract, middle ear disease (otitis media), reconstructing the soft  
   tissue anatomy of the nasopharynx and skull base of Neanderthals and other Pleistocene Homo

   Office: 314D Powdermaker Hall
   Phone: (718) 997-5532
   e-mail: Anthony.Pagano@yahoo.com
  

Richard Payne
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5561
e-mail: richard.c.payne14@gmail.com


Luis Quesada Nieto
Office: 314B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5561
e-mail: lquesadanieto@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Romera  Aida Romera Barbera
 Research Interests:
bioarchaeology, health and disease in the past, archaeology of North America, food and foodways, diet, organic residue analysis
 Office:
314I Powdermaker Hall
 Phone:
(718) 997-5512
e-mail: aromerabarbera@gradcenter.cuny.edu
Nicole Rose
Research Interests:
archaeology, Russian and Soviet archaeology, the Bronze and Early Iron Age Eurasian steppe, mobility, ceramic composition and technology, handheld XRF
Office:
314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5512
e-mail: nrose@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Debanjan Roychoudhury
Office: 314B Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5561
e-mail: drouchoudhury@ucla.edu

Doreen Schmitt
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, sociolinguistics, language and law, forensic linguistics
Office: 314J Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5520
e-mail: doreen.schmitt@qc.cuny.edu

Shibata   Chihiro Shibata
  Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, callitrichids, cooperative breeding systems, South America, Suriname
  Office: 314C Powdermaker Hall
  Phone: (718) 997-2892
  e-mail: chihiro.shibata@qc.cuny.edu
 
Kristen Squires
Office: 314G Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5520
e-mail: ksquires@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Busra Unluonen
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314F Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5522
e-mail: eunluonen@gradcenter.cuny.edu

       back to top

PROFESSOR EMERITI
Edward C. Hansen
Research Interests: general ethnology, present society and culture, politics of underdevelopment, Latin America, Mediterranean

Amal Rassam
Research Interests: Muslim society, gender and culture, ethnicity, anthropology of religion, Middle East, North Africa

Roger Sanjek
Research Interests: urban anthropology, race and ethnicity, ethnographic writing and practice, history of anthropology, U.S., Ghana

Sara Stinson
Research Interests: biological anthropology, human growth and development, human adaptation, nutritional anthropology, South America
Ronald Waterbury
Research Interests: economic anthropology, modernization and development, peasant society, Mesoamerica

       back to top


IN MEMORIAM
Warren DeBoer (1945-2020)
Research Interests: archaeology, ethnoarchaeology, South America, North America

Edgar A. Gregersen (1937-2020)
Research Interests: linguistics, cultural anthropology, sexology, Egyptology, Africa



Sydel F. Silverman (1933-2019)
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, complex societies, history of anthropology, Italy, ethnography of anthropologists


    back to top


AFFILIATED ANTHROPOLOGISTS IN OTHER DEPARTMENTS
Mary P. Bushnell Greiner (PhD. U Virginia, 1998; Associate Professor, Elementary & Early Childhood Education)
Research Interests: Anthropology and education, critical anthropology, gender, aesthetics, North America

Jeff Maskovsky (Ph.D. Temple University, 2000; Professor, Urban Studies)
Research Interests: globalization, difference and inequality, social movements, urban political economy, anthropology of the United States, North America

Anahi Viladrich (Ph.D. Columbia University, 2003; Professor, Sociology)
Research Interests: Latinos in the U.S., gender, globalization, health disparities, mixed-methods research

      back to top



footer