QClogo    D E P A R T M E N T  O F  A N T H R O P O L O G Y   
   

menu css by Css3Menu.com



Click here for current semester's faculty office hours: Spring 2020 Faculty Office Hours


FULL-TIME FACULTY                       ADJUNCT & AFFILIATED FACULTY                    PROFESSOR EMERITI                  IN MEMORIAM                AFFILIATED SCHOLARS
FACULTY
Bauer Alexander Bauer
Associate Professor
Research Interests: archaeology, material culture, cultural heritage law and policy, Middle East, Eurasia

Office: 313A Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5517
e-mail: alexander.bauer@qc.cuny.edu

Birth Kevin Birth
Professor
Research Interests: social anthropology, psychological anthropology, time, festivals, ethnicity, Caribbean
Office: 313C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5518
e-mail: kevin.birth@qc.cuny.edu

Collins John Collins
Professor
Research Interests:
cultural anthropology, economic anthropology, cultural heritage and development, Latin America, historical anthropology, nationalism and the state

Office: 315G Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5524
e-mail: john.collins@qc.cuny.edu

Elisha Omri Elisha
Associate Professor
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, Evangelical Christianity, anthropology of religion, North America, ritual performance, spirituality & secularism
Office: 315L Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5525
e-mail: omri.elisha@qc.cuny.edu

Tomomi Emoto Tomomi Emoto
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, East Asia, Japan, border, borderland, identity politics, performance, ritual, ethnohistory, violence and gender
Office: 314F Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: tomomi.emoto@qc.cuny.edu


Frank FeeleyFrancis Feeley
Adjunct Instructor
Research Interests: zooarchaeology, Medieval commercial fishing, North Atlantic archaeology
Office: 314D Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: ffeeley@qc.cuny.edu
Halliburton Murphy Halliburton
Professor
Research Interests: medical anthropology, South Asian culture and history, cross-cultural psychiatry, anthropology of science
Office: 315I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5528
e-mail: murphy.halliburton@qc.cuny.edu


Limbert Mandana Limbert
Associate Professor
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, Middle East: Oman, Arab societies, anthropology of memory, historical anthropology, religion, modernity, colonialism
Office: 315F Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5526
e-mail: mandana.limbert@qc.cuny.edu

Madimenos Felicia Madimenos
Associate Professor
Research Interests: biological anthropology, health and market integration, life history theory, skeletal health, reproductive ecology, Amazonian populations
Office: 312C Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: fmadimenos@qc.cuny.edu
Makihara Miki Makihara
Associate Professor
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, language and identity, language contact, linguistic ideology, Pacific societies
Office: 312D Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5513
e-mail: miki.makihara@qc.cuny.edu


Moore James A Moore
Associate Professor
Research Interests: archaeology, quantitative methods, historical archaeology, European prehistory, forager/ farmer interactions
Office: 313B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2891
e-mail: james.moore@qc.cuny.edu


Kate Pechenkina
Professor
Research Interests: biological anthropology, bioarchaeology, disease in prehistory, bone pathology, Neolithic China, prehistoric Peru
Office: 312A Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5529
e-mail: kate.pechenkina@qc.cuny.edu


Plummer Thomas Plummer
Professor
Research Interests: biological anthropology, hominin behavior and paleoecology, hominin paleontology, human osteology 
Office: 315M Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5511
e-mail: thomas.plummer@qc.cuny.edu

Pugh Timothy Pugh
Professor
Research Interests: archaeology, Mesoamerica, complex society, Maya, ethnohistory, social identity 
Office: 312B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2896
e-mail: twpugh@qc.cuny.edu


Rodriguez Juan Luis Rodriguez
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, semiotics, politics, discourse, Latin America, Venezuela, Indigenous peoples
Office: 315H Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2928
e-mail: juan.rodriguezaponte@qc.cuny.edu


Doreen Schmitt
Adjunct Instructor
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, sociolinguistics, language and law, forensic linguistics
Office: 314J Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: doreen.schmitt@qc.cuny.edu

Shinn Ryan Shinn
Department Laboratory Manager
Research Interests: biological anthropology, osteology of human and non-human organisms, archaeology, bioarchaeology, experimental archaeology, study of arms and armour
Office: 315N Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: ryan.shinn73@qmail.cuny.edu
Strassler Karen Strassler
Professor
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, visual and material culture, photography and new media technologies, history and memory, post-colonial literature, film and art, Indonesia, Southeast Asia, Asian diasporas
Office: 315P Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2859
e-mail: karen.strassler@qc.cuny.edu

Swedell Larissa Swedell
Professor and Chair
Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, primate ecology and behavior, reproductive strategies, Hamadryas baboons
Office: 315E Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2897
e-mail: LSwedell@qc.cuny.edu

Rhodes Victor
Megan Rhodes Victor
Assistant Professor
Research Interests: historical archaeology, commensality, archaeology of alcohol within drinking spaces, archaeology of frontier spaces
Office: 313D Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5510
e-mail: Megan.Victor@qc.cuny.edu

       back to top

    
ADJUNCT & AFFILIATED FACULTY
Amann   Alexis Amann
    Adjunct Instructor
   Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, behavioral endocrinology, captive animal management
  
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
   e-mail: alexis.amann@qc.cuny.edu


 
Nadia Augustyniak
Adjunct Instructor
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: naugustyniak@gmail.com

Katarina Evans   Katarina Evans
    Adjunct Instructor
    Research Interests: biological anthropology, primate behavioral ecology, sociality, nutritional ecology
    Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
    e-mail: katarina.evans@qc.cuny.edu
   


Ola Galal
Graduate Teaching Fellow
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: ogalal@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Hugo Genes
Graduate Teaching Fellow
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall

Megan Henriquez
Graduate Teaching Fellow
Research Interests: biological anthropology, primate behavioral ecology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: mhenriquez1@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Raquel Lamela Lopez
Adjunct Instructor
Research Interests: biological anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2892
e-mail: rlamelalopez@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Wendy Leynse
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, child socialization, education, school lunch, food habits, French culture & society
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: wendy.leynse@qc.cuny.edu

Evan Mann
Adjunct Instructor
Research Interests: archaeology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512
e-mail: emann@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Pere Nogues Martin
Graduate Teaching Fellow
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall

Pagano  Anthony Pagano
   Adjunct Assistant Professor
   Research Interests: evolution and postnatal development of the human upper respiratory tract, middle ear disease (otitis media), reconstructing the soft  
   tissue anatomy of the nasopharynx and skull base of Neanderthals and other Pleistocene Homo

   Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
   e-mail: Anthony.Pagano@yahoo.com


  

Richard Payne
Adjunct Instructor
Research Interests:
cultural anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5561
e-mail: richard.c.payne14@gmail.com


Luis Quesada Nieto
Adjunct Instructor
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: lquesadanieto@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Nikhil Ramachandran
Graduate Teaching Fellow
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall

Romera   Aida Romera Barbera
  Graduate Teaching Fellow
  Research Interests:
bioarchaeology, health and disease in the past, archaeology of North America, food and foodways, diet, organic residue analysis
  Office:
314 Powdermaker Hall
  e-mail: aromerabarbera@gradcenter.cuny.edu




Nicole Rose
Adjunct Instructor
Research Interests:
archaeology, Russian and Soviet archaeology, the Bronze and Early Iron Age Eurasian steppe, mobility, ceramic composition and technology, handheld XRF
Office:
314 Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5512
e-mail: nrose@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Debanjan Roychoudhury
Adjunct Instructor
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5561
e-mail: drouchoudhury@ucla.edu

Shibata   Chihiro Shibata
  Adjunct Instructor
  Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, callitrichids, cooperative breeding systems, South America, Suriname
  Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
  e-mail: chihiro.shibata@qc.cuny.edu
 



Kristen Squires
Graduate Teaching Fellow
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: KSquires@qc.cuny.edu

James Tolleson
Graduate Teaching Fellow
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
email: jtolleson@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Busra Unluonen
Adjunct Instructor
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5522
e-mail: eunluonen@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Evan Wilson
Graduate Teaching Fellow
Research Interests: biological anthropology
Office:
314 Powdermaker Hall
e-mail: revevanpwilson@gmail.com

       back to top

PROFESSOR EMERITI
Edward C. Hansen
Research Interests: general ethnology, present society and culture, politics of underdevelopment, Latin America, Mediterranean

Amal Rassam
Research Interests: Muslim society, gender and culture, ethnicity, anthropology of religion, Middle East, North Africa

Roger Sanjek
Research Interests: urban anthropology, race and ethnicity, ethnographic writing and practice, history of anthropology, U.S., Ghana

Sara Stinson
Research Interests: biological anthropology, human growth and development, human adaptation, nutritional anthropology, South America
Ronald Waterbury
Research Interests: economic anthropology, modernization and development, peasant society, Mesoamerica

       back to top


IN MEMORIAM
Warren DeBoer (1945-2020)
Research Interests: archaeology, ethnoarchaeology, South America, North America

Edgar A. Gregersen (1937-2020)
Research Interests: linguistics, cultural anthropology, sexology, Egyptology, Africa



Sydel F. Silverman (1933-2019)
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, complex societies, history of anthropology, Italy, ethnography of anthropologists


    back to top


AFFILIATED ANTHROPOLOGISTS IN OTHER DEPARTMENTS
Mary P. Bushnell Greiner (PhD. U Virginia, 1998; Associate Professor, Elementary & Early Childhood Education)
Research Interests: Anthropology and education, critical anthropology, gender, aesthetics, North America

Jeff Maskovsky (Ph.D. Temple University, 2000; Professor, Urban Studies)
Research Interests: globalization, difference and inequality, social movements, urban political economy, anthropology of the United States, North America

Anahi Viladrich (Ph.D. Columbia University, 2003; Professor, Sociology)
Research Interests: Latinos in the U.S., gender, globalization, health disparities, mixed-methods research

      back to top



footer